The New Edward Said?

So, I’m going to give my first real public presentation in my academic career. I’ve done public speaking as a librarian and with my short stint in the world of stand-up comedy. But, this is kind of a big deal. I’m trying to actually become a college professor/lecturer and this is the first step. And, I’m nervous. Not only that, I’m stressed and it has been making my class work and house cleaning and other stuff fall by the wayside. When I get stressed I go into shut down mode. All I want to do is sit and look at Facebook and try not to deal with the overwhelming feeling I have.
Why do I bring this up? Because I want to know how public intellectuals do it. How is there a balance to life and work and not feeling completely stressed? I need to know the answers because I’m a big stress ball right now.
This rant provided by a donation from professional academia.

Leave a Reply

